Packing for Your Next Trip

I love a good adventure.  By road, air or train I am ready for a great time out of town.  The problem comes in the packing.  I blame my parents for not making me haul my own suitcase when I was a kid.  If I would have been responsible for lugging my bag I probably wouldn’t be an over packer today.  I’m working on getting better, though.  Here are some things I’ve learned.

Only pack what you are really going to wear.  It seems like a fun idea to try something new while you are on vacation, but if it is too far outside your normal you probably won’t wear it.  Save the room in your suitcase for the pieces you really love and feel great in.  Pack in outfits so you can see how the pieces will work together.

Know your itinerary and bring what works.  If it’s a relaxing weekend at a cabin or days of hiking all over the city you don’t need to bring your stilettos.  And speaking of stilettos, don’t go overboard on shoes – they take up way too much valuable space!  Just bring a great pair of flats, one dressy shoe and either a pair of boots or sandals depending on the season.  Stick small items inside your shoes to create even more space.

Also, know your climate.  These days it’s very easy to check the forecast on your phone as you are packing.  This really increases your chances of having what you need for the weather.  Layering pieces are great for adding warmth and variety to your looks.  Stick with basic tops and bottoms and bring out your style and personality with statement accessories.  A simple switch of your jewelry and shoes can move the same outfit seamlessly from day to night.

Use packing cubes to manage your suitcase space and to help keep items from wrinkling.  If you are traveling with someone plan to share hair styling tools so you don’t duplicate on big items – you want to have room in your suitcase to bring back goodies from your trip.

Bring on the next adventure!

Style 311 has been granted permission to use proprietary material created by Shari Braendel, Founder of Fashion Meets Faith.  (c) All rights reserved.

One thought on “Packing for Your Next Trip

  1. Pingback: Dressing for the Airport | Style 311

Leave a comment